Daily Prompt: First Love to Best Friend

The Daily Post: Think of your longest relationship: describe how your love has changed over time, did you go from the giddiness of infatuation, to mad passion, to deep respect, esteem, and friendship? Tell us about your love story.

_________

My longest relationship has been with my first grown up love. I was 19 and he was 26. He was the first real man to give me attention and I fell head over heels. I tried everything I could to get him to love me like I loved him. But, we were never meant to be. At the time I thought he was all I would ever want but now I am glad that we didn’t survive. If I had stayed with him I would have moved further away from the real me than I am now. He would have ultimately smothered my soul.

Strangely enough we have stayed friends for over 25 years. I was a part of his wedding and he was a part of mine.

Even though we went through a lot of heartache I believe our paths crossed for reason. We’ve been there for each other and learned a lot from each other. We were meant to be friends – the best of friends!

3 responses to “Daily Prompt: First Love to Best Friend

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: That’s Amore | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Love in the time of The Voice | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: That’s Amore | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

Leave a Reply

