Daily Prompt: Best Friend Lost

The Daily Post Prompt:Tell us the origin story of your best friend. How did you become friends? What is it that keeps your friendship rockin’ after all these years?

_________

Do you have a person in your life who you can completely be yourself with? You know that one person you can show yourself to – your happiness, sadness, silliness, and even your crazy side.

I use to have that person. I considered her my best friend from Junior High till we were in our early 20’s. Although, we are still friends, I lost my “best” friend when I got really depressed and she distanced herself from me. Even though I stuck with her during some of her darkest moments, she decided she couldn’t handle mine.

Now, 20 years later I find it very difficult to “fit in” because I am afraid if I show people the real me, they will end up turning on me too.

I tend to be a person who is by nature very open – sharing my thoughts, feelings, and secrets with those around me. Because I share so much, I have been hurt and disappointed a lot – with each person I trust – I regret.

I seem to be too much for people to take so I don’t have many people in my life. I am learning to talk less, listen more and always turn the attention back to the other person. I figure people can’t fault me for listening and wanting to know more about them. I just wish I had at least one person who could just be there for me.

6 responses to “Daily Prompt: Best Friend Lost

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Something So Strong | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Something So Strong | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  3. Pingback: Welcome Brothers | Views Splash!

  4. Pingback: Ode to My BFF | Views Splash!

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Something So Strong | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  6. Pingback: Something So Strong | Cancer Isn't Pink

Leave a Reply

