Daily Prompt: We’ve Got the Beat

Have you ever played in a band? Tell us all about that experience of making music with friends. If you’ve never been in a band, imagine you’re forming a band with some good friends. What instrument do you play in the band and why? What sort of music will you play? – The Daily Post

Although I never played in a band, music used to be a big part of my life. From elementary school to college, singing was my passion. My dream was always to share my voice with the world through song. Singing gave me the power to share my feelings and evoke emotions in my audience. When I was on stage people felt my presence and listened to what I had to say. My music gave me a voice and made me feel special. 

Unfortunately I stopped singing during my second year in college. My dad told me that I had to grow up and realize that just because you love something doesn’t mean that you were necessarily meant to spend your life that way. 

20 years later, I now know that you don’t always have to be great at something  to continue doing it- sometimes just loving it is enough. When I stopped singing my passion died and I lost a big part of myself. 

I am now trying to reignite my passion and bring back my voice. Good or bad – I will learn to let the music play again!

9 responses to “Daily Prompt: We’ve Got the Beat

  1. Pingback: Daily post theme: Performance | The Wandering Poet

  2. Pingback: We Got the Beat! | Alexia Jones

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: We Got the Beat | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  4. Pingback: Jamming | Knowledge Addiction

  5. Pingback: Rockstar – Not So Much! | Views Splash!

  6. Pingback: Beats Till My Heart Beats | Views Splash!

  7. Pingback: I Thought I got the Beat | Inks and Scribbles

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: We Got The Beat | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  9. Pingback: Band On The Run | Edward Hotspur

Leave a Reply

